HolisticGoddess

Holistic lifestyle, healthy eating, yoga, & Life!

Kale Talk….. :)

Leave a comment

Let’s talk about this amazing super-GREEN-food that is KALE!

I didn’t actually get into eating kale until about a year ago when I learned so much about it’s plethora of health benefits through a nutrition class I was attending at the same time. I guess by physical appeal standards, they reminded me of miniature Bonsai trees….so green and lush with a slightly sweet to bitter taste, I knew I was in for a treat!

Known as “The Queen of Greens”, kale comes packed with many vitamins and minerals such as: Vitamin K, A, C & B6, fiber, calcium, potassium, copper, Vitamin E (Great for the skin! 😉 ) and….yeah, you get the point! It also comes with many cancer-lowering benefits for breast, prostate, ovary, and colon as it helps to rid the body of toxins. Therefore, your entire immune system will have you feeling like Popeye on the inside!

I happen to run across some recently at my local store for around $1.40 a bushel, which isn’t bad but if I can find some even lower than that, that would be a blessing!

There are many different ways to cook and prepare kale that’s so easy, even I can do it, lol! I recently started making my own kale chips…

I found various recipes online, but to keep it quick and simple here’s mine:

To clean your kale before preparation:  I use 2-parts water with 1-part vinegar, give them a “bath” of sorts for about 1-2 mins

1 bushel of kale (more or less, depending on how many chips you want to make)

about 1 tbs. of olive oil

a little salt & pepper (or you favorite seasoning,) to taste

 

 

Pre-heat oven to 300°F

Cut or tear kale leaves from the stem in about 1-2 inch long pieces

sprinkle a very light covering of your favorite seasoning (I like to use sea salt, pepper, or parmesan)

Pour about 1 tbs of olive oil on a sheet pan, spread the oil around the pan covering all sides evenly

Arrange kale in a single-layer style across the pan

Bake until crisp for about 20-30 mins

Let cool & serve!

I try to make these at lease once a week, they are so good and can become addictive, especially if you have some knock-out seasoning! A quick healthy snack and a wonderful alternative to regular chips. Enjoy!!! 😀

Author: holisticgoddess369

I'm a Certified Hypnotherapist, Yoga Teacher & Certified Reiki Master/Teacher, Life coach & Holistic Nutritionist. I'm a Spiritual Gangster who's Love, Passion & Destiny in this Life is to help others reach theirs! :) On the constant journey of Self discovery, there's NEVER a dull moment!

Leave a Reply

